Eurovision Song Contest vs People who don't change the water

GOOD THING: EUROVISION SONG CONTESTIn a bid to be vaguely topical, I thought I would take this opportunity to declare my love for the Eurovision Song Contest. Obviously I'm not alone here, but it's one of those things that you either love or hate - like Marmite or Ricky Gervais. This photo (left) demonstrates just one of the things that are so fantastic about Eurovision - where else would you find Turkish men wearing body-stockings and gold sequins (unless you frequent very specialist nightclubs...)? It's also a great opportunity for everyone to be racist and get away with it - come on, you know you do it too!We all laugh at the French, who invariably enter a middle-aged woman dressed in a long gown and singing a dreary ballad - and then, of course, insist on giving their votes in French, when everyone else does it in English. And we have fun at the expense of the Germans - never known for their musical ingenuity, Kraftwerk aside - whose language really doesn't lend itself well to the medium of song. The contest throws up numerous questions to ponder, such as when Israel became part of Europe, and why half of the entrants these days seem to employ a belly-dancer or rip off Zorba's Dance. The UK should never expect to win, and may never do so again, but Eurovision is one of the few events where taking part is just as good as winning. And we certainly don't have to worry about winning in 2006, thanks to Daz Sampson and his flock of schoolgirls, who are teetering on the edge of indecency. Daz appears to be stuck both musically and fashion-wise in the early 1990s and is so old it would be amazing if he had any recognise of his 'teenage life'. He also looks like he should be running a mobile disco in Essex or serving up burgers to bickering families at a retail park. Go Daz!
BAD THING: PEOPLE WHO DON'T CHANGE THE WATER
When it comes to household chores, washing up is one of the jobs that I actually don't mind too much. It never takes too long, and you can listen to some music at the same time. But I either have to wash, or be in a position to instruct and/or scrutinise the washer - because one thing I can't stand is filthy washing-up water. Yes, that sounds weird and obsessive, but think about it; do you really want to drink from a glass that has been casually swilled in water tainted with curry or fish pie? Thought not. It's fair enough to want to economise on water, but I'm afraid that it shouldn't be at the expense of hygiene. My first encounter with bad water-changers was as a 10 year old on weekend trips with my school. After breakfast I frequently found myself on the washing-up team, and it wouldn't be long before I had left-over Rice Krispies and baked beans swimming between my fingers. And the teachers wouldn't let me run another bowl of water! Another thing I hate is when people wash things in the wrong order - for instance, you have to do the glasses (and anything made from glass) first, because otherwise the glasses become greasy and never really get cleaned. But I have watched helplessly as other people (whose identities I shall protect) plunge a dirty casserole dish into the water, give it a good scrub, and then dunk the wine glasses in afterwards. Common sense, people! And no, I am not receiving regular treatment for OCD...
